My Note System

A good note-taking system should connect any information you learn to form a knowledge system, when you need them, you can easily find them, and then form their own new knowledge.

In the article “Manage your knowledge with OneNote”, I was introduced to manage my data with OneNote. Although OneNote has done a very good job, it cannot meet my requirements due to the following problems:

  1. Syntax highlighting is not supported in typesetting. As someone who writes a lot of code, this is intolerable.
  2. No Tag system. Unable to flexibly insert various tags into the page, resulting in the lack of effective interconnection of data, forming an island of knowledge, and finally become a data backup tool.
  3. Proprietary data format. You can only open a laptop with OneNote, which would be awkward if Microsoft suddenly dropped the tool.
  4. Bulky. After nearly 5 years of use, my OneNote has been a few GB size, every time to change the computer synchronization is always very slow, this may have something to do with my use habits, encounter good data is copied in.
  5. Poor ability to expand. You can't install plugins, you don't have the ability to customize, you can't publish your notes on the web, and it's hard to share your knowledge.

Because of these problems, I began to seek for a new solution, which should meet the following needs:

  1. Strong capture ability. OneNote is a good example of this. You can easily save external articles to the OneNote partition via the OneNote browser plugin, or you can send WeChat public accounts to the OneNote public accounts to save them.
  2. Good Tag system. Scattered knowledge can be linked together. Although OneNote organizes relevant knowledge through pagination as a tree, it is really inconvenient to paginate when there is too much data. It can make searching for data very painful.
  3. Can easily update tag/link/text. If you rename the associated data name or Tag, it should be easy to automatically rename the associated link.
  4. The file format should be plain text. If not plain text, at least the format is not proprietary.
  5. Strong ability to expand. Can be extended through plug-ins to customize.
  6. Open source. This allows us to release it for use and is unlikely to be unmaintained.

After some searching, I finally found two tools that met my needs, Emacs orgmode and Tiddlywiki. While there are many wiki tools, such as mediawiki, used by Wikipedia, such systems are large and cumbersome to run.

Emacs orgmode

When it comes to note systems, Emacs's orgmode can't get around. When you want to find a personal note system, it's easy to see everyone's praise for orgmode on the Internet. Even many people spend long time learning Emacs to use orgmode .

The magic of orgmode is reflected in this article: “Org Mode-Organize Your Life In Plain Text!". In simple terms, the author uses orgmode to manage every aspect of his life, such as a writing system, to-do reminders, note-taking system, and so on. Thanks to the powerful custom development capabilities of Emacs, almost all your needs can be extended by writing some functions. This expansion capability is much more powerful than the plug-in system of VSCode / Vim / Sublime Text. It can be said that apart from the difficulty of learning, there are almost no shortcomings. It has the following characteristics:

  1. 17 years old. Over time, orgmode has proven itself.
  2. Powerful customization. Development through elisp is almost omnipotent.
  3. Plain text. It can automatically generate files in multiple formats and easily publish them to web pages.
  4. The threshold for use is high. It takes a lot of time to learn to adapt, and this may take more time than you think.
  5. Poor ecology. Due to the high threshold, there are fewer users and the ecology is worse. Of course you have the ability to use it for various functions, but it's tiring.
  6. Poor technology migration. elisp is too old and emacs is too unique. This ancient technology is like a peerless sword. Few people are destined to use it well. This means that many people can't understand what you write, and of course, they can't perform technical communication and interaction.

Tiddlywiki

Tiddlywiki is a unique non-linear notebook for capturing, organizing and sharing complex information. His design idea is to divide the information through a unit called Tiddler and use the rich relationship model between them to maximize the reusability of the information. Aggregates and ideas are then used to arrange the pieces together to present a narrative story.

It has the following characteristics:

  1. 15 years old. This history is long enough, time has proven its stability and sustainability, and it is open source.
  2. Tag system is powerful. What impresses me most is its tag system, which is easy to organize different information together through tags.
  3. Single HTML file structure. All the information is stored in a HTML, you can download it and run it in the browser, it is very simple. The default empty system is about 2MB in the latest version 5, and generally stores thousands of entries (Tiddler). It can grow by a few MB. Because it is a single file architecture, in order not to affect performance, you should use external references to pictures as much as possible Reduce total volume.
  4. Many plugins. It's easy to give it extensions via JavaScript.
  5. Unable to collaborate with multiple people. But it can be used as a simple wiki system for team knowledge sharing.

orgmode VS Tiddlywiki

Here you can see some people's comparative evaluation of these two tools 1. After spending a few days learning orgmode, I was dismissed by its complexity and power, so I chose Tiddlywiki.

Tiddlywiki User's Guide

Tiddlywiki is extremely simple to use and run. This is the point where orgmode is killed. In this Learning article, you can spend more than ten minutes to understand its basic knowledge.

After clicking the + sign on the right side of the figure to add an entry:

After clicking the red save button on the right, you will find that a file named tiddlywiki.html was downloaded directly. After opening it with a browser, you will find that it is exactly the same as the tiddlywiki on the Internet. When you save this local tiddlywiki again and find that it downloads a tiddlywiki.html again, that is to say, whenever you save, it will be saved by downloading a copy, because it is in the browser It does not have the ability to update itself. This can be solved by a chrome app. Download tiddly-chrome-app, and then use This chrome app can be automatically updated by loading tiddlywiki.html. Of course, you can also set up a Nodejs environment to achieve automatic saving.

Note the following:

  1. Back up. Because it is a single file structure, all data is stored in a Html, so it is important to protect this file. You can back it up through Git. For example, my tiddlywiki is backed up 2 in GitHub.
  2. Performance. Resources such as pictures and files are best stored in a third-party cloud disk, and then introduced by means of reference links.
  3. Relink. When you rename an entry or tag, you can solve it by installing this tw5-relink plugin.

Capture

Capture is an important ability of a note taking system. OneNote does a good job in this respect, but tiddlywiki does not do well, but there are some ways to solve it. Let's rethink the process of taking the next note:

  1. You see a good article and want to save it. This article may be a web page, or it may be an email or a file.
  2. You throw this article all directly into your notebook and save it. Imagine you will use it some day, or you will save a chapter and a picture in it separately.

When I was using OneNote, I generally saved the articles in WeChat directly by sending them to the public account, and then forgot about this. As for some information seen on the computer, I will directly copy it to OneNote. At some point I sort out some of these materials, but most of them are forgotten, and even when I need them, I don't remember that I saved them before.

In this scenario, the following issues are exposed:

  1. The data is stored without being processed.
  2. Most of the information is stored in OneNote.

Because tiddlywiki is essentially a webpage, you cannot copy an article directly into it like OneNote, and this copying method will cause your notes to grow larger and larger, and it will become more and more difficult to find valid information. So this is essentially a habitual problem. The data must be processed twice before it can be entered into the note-taking system, otherwise this storage is meaningless and only a link needs to be stored.

After some thinking, I developed a way to archive my data for a long time:

  1. The cited article can be saved in Wayback Machine;
  2. Files can be saved to GitHub private libraries and web disks (including professional cloud storage such as s3, as well as web disks of major Internet companies);
  3. Back up Capture data through a third party. Only links are stored in the notes.

In my Capture solution, for some materials read online, considering the speed of Internet information loss, most articles have a short life span 3. In order to save them for a long time, I will use Wayback Machine to back up these pages. This will never be lost again, I just need to store its link, and for the materials that need to be stored separately can be stored in the note system. For images that need to be stored, I will store them in AWS S3 4, and then refer to their links. Of course, there are many types of cloud storage solutions. You can also choose the domestic Seven Cow Cloud (requires domain name registration), etc.

Wayback Machine

20 years of history, Internet memories, digital libraries, website time machines. This is a non-commercial project. The purpose of its creation is to make non-stop backups of the entire Internet website. At present, there are more than 450 billion 5 cached pages. On this website you can see the history of many websites, like The time machine also travels through different historical versions of the website.

It has the following capabilities:

  1. Crawl webpage HTML and its external links.
  2. Can generate webpage snapshot pictures.
  3. You can store web pages in your Wayback Machine account.
  4. You can use the API to request web caching 6.

VSCode plug-in stores pictures to S3 in one click

In a Markdown document, when you want to paste a picture of a web page into the past, it is very troublesome. First you have to download the picture locally (refer to the picture address of the web page is not good, the picture may disappear mysteriously), and then use The relative path refers to this picture. When there are many pictures, this is a very painful process.

Is it possible to automatically insert an S3 link into a Markdown document after pasting a web page image after pasting it in VSCode? I found a plugin that can upload Qiniu / GitHub / sm.ms etc. in one click, but it does not provide S3 support, so I added this feature after the fork. If you also need this feature, you can here Download and install: markdown image paste

With this plugin, write wiki / md files and paste them into the S3 link after copying the pictures. This way the pictures will always be stored in your S3 account. It also comes with global CDN acceleration.

Netlify Publish Website

The public wiki is a reorganized collection of knowledge materials. Non-text resources such as pictures, PDFs, Office files, and Keynote are stored on cloud services such as Amazon S3 / Aliyun OSS. Snapshots of web pages and other content can be backed up using Wayback Machine, and then Save these links to the wiki system.

The wiki materials are hosted through a GitHub public repository, and static websites are generated through netlify.

My wiki website is automatically published through netlify. After each update of the wiki, push to GitHub and netlify is automatically published. This process takes less than ten seconds.

Private Note

A collection of private, non-public data related to private notes and work. Non-text resources such as pictures, PDFs, Office files, Keynote, etc. are stored on Google Drive / Microsoft OneDrive. These links are then stored in private Markdown files and hosted through a private GitHub repository.

Important Note

Keys and other information are hosted by 1Password. Important materials are made into md files and then hosted by Google Drive / Microsoft OneDrive. Important information that is often needed can be encrypted and stored by mobile memo.

References


  1. https://www.slant.co/versus/5116/8769/~tiddlywiki_vs_org-mode ↩︎

  2. https://github.com/bmpi-dev/wiki.bmpi.dev ↩︎

  3. https://web.archive.org/web/20191230143823/https://gigaom.com/2012/09/19/the-disappearing-web-information-decay-is-eating-away-our-history/ ↩︎

  4. https://aws.amazon.com/cn/s3/ ↩︎

  5. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wayback_Machine ↩︎

  6. https://wiki.bmpi.dev/#wayback%20machine ↩︎

This work is licensed under a CC BY-NC-ND 4.0

Related posts recommended

Get weekly updates, right in your mailbox

我的笔记系统

一个好的笔记系统,应该能把你所学习到的任何资料串联起来,形成一个知识系统,在你需要他们的时候,可以很容易找到,进而形成自己新的知识。

我在《用OneNote管理你的知识》这篇文章中介绍了如何用 OneNote 管理各种资料,虽然 OneNote 已经做的非常好了,依然存在以下问题无法达到我的要求:

  1. 排版不支持语法高亮。作为一个经常写代码的人,这点不能忍。
  2. 没有 Tag 系统。无法很灵活的给页面插入各种 Tag ,导致资料无法有效互联,形成一个个知识孤岛,最终变成一个资料备份工具。
  3. 数据格式专有。只能用 OneNote 才能打开笔记本,假如微软突然放弃了这个工具,那就很尴尬了。
  4. 体积庞大。在使用了近5年之后,我的 OneNote 已经有几 GB 大小了,每次换电脑同步总是很慢,这可能和我的使用习惯有关系,遇到好的资料都是复制进去。
  5. 扩展能力差。无法安装插件,也没有定制能力,更无法将你的笔记发布成网站,也很难与别人分享你的知识。

这些问题开始驱使我寻求新的解决方案,新方案应该满足以下需求:

  1. 有强大的抓取能力。OneNote 的这点很不错,你可以通过 OneNote 的浏览器插件很容易将外部文章存至 OneNote 的分区中,也可以将微信公众号文章发送给 OneNote 公众号进行保存。
  2. 有好的 Tag 系统。可以将分散的知识串联起来。虽然 OneNote 通过分页这种树形的方式组织相关的知识,但是资料一旦多了,分页真的很不方便,会让找资料变的很痛苦。
  3. 能容易的更新 tag/link/text。如果重命名相关的资料名或者 Tag,应该很方便去自动重命名关联的链接。
  4. 文件格式最好是纯文本的。如果不是纯文本,至少格式也不是专有的才好。
  5. 有强大的扩展能力。能通过插件去扩展定制。
  6. 开源。这点可以让我们放心的去使用,不太可能无人维护。

经过一番查找对比后,最终找到两个可以满足我需求的工具,Emacs Org mode 和 Tiddlywiki。虽然 Wiki 工具非常多,比如 Wikipedia 使用的 mediawiki 之类,但这类系统过于庞大,要运行起来也很麻烦。

Emacs Org mode

提到笔记系统,Emacs的Org mode总是绕不过去,当你想要找一个个人笔记系统的时候,在网上很容易看到大家对Org mode的盛赞,甚至很多人花长时间学习Emacs也是为了用Org mode。

Org mode神奇的魔力在这篇 Org Mode - Organize Your Life In Plain Text! 文章中体现的淋漓尽致 。简单来说,作者使用Org mode管理了他人生中的方方面面,比如写作系统、待办事项提醒、笔记系统等。得益于Emacs强大的定制开发能力,几乎你的一切需求都可以通过编写一些函数去扩展,这种扩展能力比VSCode/Vim/Sublime Text的插件系统等要强大的多。可以说,除了学习难度高,几乎没啥缺点了。它有以下特点:

  1. 17 years old。在时间的长河中,Org mode已经证明了自己。
  2. 定制能力强大。通过eLisp去开发,几乎无所不能。
  3. 纯文本。可自动生成多种格式的文件,也很容易发布成网页。
  4. 使用门槛很高。需要花费很多时间学习适应,这个“很多时间”可能比你想象的都要多一些。
  5. 生态差。由于高门槛,所以用户就少一些,生态就差一些。当然你能力强,可以用它来实现各种功能,但是这样挺累的。
  6. 技术迁移度差。eLisp太古老了,Emacs太独特了,这种上古技术,就像一把绝世好剑,注定能用好它的人会很少。这意味着你写出来的东西很多人都看不懂,当然也就无法进行技术交流互动了,自己造轮子造到心累。

Tiddlywiki

Tiddlywiki 是一款独特的非线性笔记本,用于捕获、组织和分享复杂信息。其设计思想是将信息通过一种名为 Tiddler 的单元分割,利用它们之间丰富的关系模型,从而最大化信息的可复用性。 然后,通过聚合和构思来把片段编排在一起,以呈现具有叙述性的故事。

它具备以下特点:

  1. 15 years old。这个历史足够久了,时间验证了其稳定性和可持续性,而且是开源的。
  2. Tag系统强大。最让我印象深刻的就是它的Tag系统,很容易通过Tag将不同的信息组织到一起。
  3. 单 HTML 文件架构。所有的信息都在一个Html中存放,你可以直接下载下来在浏览器中运行,非常的简单。默认的空的系统在最新的版本5中大约是2MB,一般存储几千个条目(Tiddler)大概能增长几 MB,由于是单文件架构,为了不影响性能,应尽可能通过将图片外部引用来降低总体积。
  4. 插件众多。很容易通过 JavaScript 给其扩展功能。
  5. 无法多人协作。但可用作团队知识共享简单的 Wiki 系统。

Org mode VS Tiddlywiki

在这里可以看到一些人对这两个工具的对比评价1。在花了几天时间学习了 Org mode 之后,我被它复杂强大的能力劝退了,所有选择了 Tiddlywiki。

Tiddlywiki使用指南

Tiddlywiki 的使用和运行是极其简单的,就这点秒杀了 Org mode。在这篇 Learning 文章中,你可以花费十几分钟了解下它的基本知识。

在上图右侧点击+号新增一个条目后:

右侧红色的保存按钮点击了后,你会发现直接下载了一个名为tiddlywiki.html的文件,用浏览器打开后,会发现和你刚才在网上的tiddlywiki一摸一样。当你再对这个本地tiddlywiki进行一番操作保存后发现它又给你下载了一个tiddlywiki.html,也就是说每当你保存的时候,都会通过下载副本的形式保存,因为它在浏览器中运行,不具备自己更新自己的能力,这种可以通过一个chrome的app来解决,下载 tiddly-chrome-app ,然后用此chrome app加载tiddlywiki.html即可自动更新了,当然也可以通过搭建Nodejs环境来实现自动保存,不过最简单的还是这种方式。

需要注意的有以下几点:

  1. 备份。因为是单文件架构,所有的资料都在一个Html中存放,所以保护好这个文件至关重要,可以通过Git去备份。比如我的 tiddlywiki 就在GitHub中备份2
  2. 性能。图片、文件等资源最好通过存放第三方的云盘中,然后通过引用链接等方式引入。
  3. Relink。当你重新命名一个条目或者Tag的时候,可以通过安装这个 tw5-relink 插件解决。

Capture方案

Capture 是一个笔记系统很重要的能力,这方面 OneNote 做的很好,但是 tiddlywiki 做的却不好,不过可以有一些方法来解决。让我们先来重新思考下一个笔记记录的过程:

  1. 你看到一篇好文章,想要保存起来。这篇文章可能是一个网页,也可能是个邮件或者文件之类。
  2. 你把这篇文章直接全部扔到笔记本中存起来,想象某天会用到它,或者你会将里面的某个章节,某个图片单独保存起来。

当我在用OneNote的时候,对于微信中的文章,我一般直接通过发送到公众号去保存,然后就忘了这个事情。而对于电脑端看到的一些资料,我会直接复制到 OneNote 中去。在某些时候我会整理一下这些资料,但是大多数它们就被遗忘了,甚至当我需要的时候,我都不记得之前保存过这些资料。

在这个场景中,暴露了以下这几个问题:

  1. 资料没有被处理就直接被存储了。
  2. 大多数资料都是全部被存放到 OneNote 中去。

因为 tiddlywiki 本质是个网页,无法像 OneNote 一样可以直接复制一篇文章到里面去,而且这种复制手法会导致你的笔记越来越大,找寻有效信息变得越来越难。所以这本质是个习惯问题,资料必须被二次处理后才能进入笔记系统中,否则这个存储毫无意义,只需要存放一个链接即可了。

经过一些思考,我制定了自己资料长期归档的方式:

  1. 引用文章可以保存到 Wayback Machine 中;
  2. 文件可以保存到 GitHub 私有库和网盘中(包括s3等专业云存储,还有各大互联网公司的网盘);
  3. 通过第三方备份 Capture 资料,笔记中只存储链接。

在我的 Capture 方案,对于网上阅读的一些资料,考虑到互联网信息丢失的速度,大部分文章存活的寿命并不长3,为了能长期保存,我会把这些网页使用 Wayback Machine 备份,这样再也不会丢失了,我只需要把它的链接存储起来即可,对于需要单独存储的资料可以存放到笔记系统中。对于需要存储的图片,我会存放到 AWS S34 中,然后引用其链接即可,当然这类云存储方案很多,你也可以选择国内七牛云(需要域名备案)等。

Wayback Machine

20多年的历史,互联网的记忆,数字图书馆,网站时光机。这是一个非商业的项目,创立目的就是给整个互联网的网站做不停的备份,目前已经有4500多亿5的缓存页面了,在这个网站你可以看到很多网站的历史,像时光机一样穿梭在网站的不同历史版本中去。

它具备以下能力:

  1. 可爬取网页 HTML 及其外部链接。
  2. 可生成网页快照图片。
  3. 可将网页存储至自己的 Wayback Machine 账户。
  4. 可以使用 API 来请求网页缓存6

VSCode插件一键存储图片至S3

在 Markdown 文档中当你想把网页的图片黏贴过去是件很麻烦的事情,首先你要把图片下载到本地(引用网页图片地址不太好,图片可能会神秘消失),然后在文档中使用相对路径引用这个图片,当图片很多的时候,这是个非常痛苦的过程。

能不能做到复制网页图片后,在 VSCode 中黏贴后自动插入一个 S3 的链接到 Markdown 文档中去呢?我找到一款插件,可以做到一键上传七牛/GitHub/sm.ms等,但是它没有提供 S3 的支持,所以我 fork 此代码仓库后加了这个功能,如果你也需要这个功能的话,可以在这里下载安装: markdown image paste

有了这个插件后,写 wiki/md 文件遇到图片复制后黏贴进去自动插入S3链接,这样图片永远存放到你的 S3 账号中去,还自带全球 CDN 加速。

Netlify发布网站

公共 Wiki 是重新整理后的知识资料集合,其中非文本的资源如图片、PDF、Office格式文件、Keynote等存放至 Amazon S3/Aliyun OSS 等云服务,网页等内容的快照可使用 Wayback Machine 备份,然后将这些链接存放至 Wiki 系统。

Wiki 资料通过 GitHub 公共仓库托管,通过 netlify 生成静态网站。

我的 Wiki 网站就是通过 netlify 自动发布,每次更新 wiki 后,push 到 GitHub,netlify 自动发布,这个过程只需要不到十几秒。

私有Note

私人备忘和工作涉及的私有非公开的资料集合,其中非文本的资源如图片、PDF、Office格式文件、Keynote等存放至Google Drive/Microsoft OneDrive。然后将这些链接存放至私有Markdown文件中,通过 GitHub 私有库托管。

重要资料

密钥等信息通过1Password托管,重要的资料制作成md文件后通过 Google Drive/Microsoft OneDrive 等托管,经常需要的重要的资料可通过手机备忘录加密存放。

一些新型的笔记系统

Notion

Notion 虽然非常适合搭建个人/团队/家人 Wiki ,但是由于其非开源,商业的不确定性导致我不敢把全部的资料迁移至其上。目前只是用来做一些简单的页面,比如 收藏网站 这个页面是我制作的个人收藏网站书签页面,而这个 Portfolio 页面更能体现 Notion 如乐高积木般搭建 Wiki 页面特性的能力。

Roam Research

Roam Research 的设计很超前,它是一款能将碎片化信息整理成个人知识的网状笔记工具。通过它你可以很容易把一些关联的信息建立双向链接。甚至这篇 How to use Roam Research: a tool for metacognition 称之为“元认知工具”。

该工具没有免费版,收费也不便宜。不过已经有人将其核心的双向链接功能移植到了 Tiddlywiki 上,这就是 Stroll。通过双向链接,可以很容易找出文章上下文关联的其他文章。我也将我的 Wiki 更新为了这个版本的 Tiddlywiki,感兴趣的朋友可以体验下它的强大之处。

References


  1. https://www.slant.co/versus/5116/8769/~tiddlywiki_vs_org-mode ↩︎

  2. https://github.com/bmpi-dev/wiki.bmpi.dev ↩︎

  3. https://web.archive.org/web/20191230143823/https://gigaom.com/2012/09/19/the-disappearing-web-information-decay-is-eating-away-our-history/ ↩︎

  4. https://aws.amazon.com/cn/s3/ ↩︎

  5. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wayback_Machine ↩︎

  6. https://wiki.bmpi.dev/#wayback%20machine ↩︎